Wednesday, May 30, 2007

17 is Prime vol 1

Alien Corpse has embarked on it's first mixtape voyage, 17 is Prime. Every Thursday, the contributors will be giving a taste of what has been gracing their ears for the last week. Expect 17 unexpected tracks. Listen, enjoy, and support the artists.

Vol. 1 Track listing and contributors:

01 Panda Bear-Take Pills-JH
02 Master of None-Beach house-BW
03 Sailor's Tale-King Crimson-JD
04 Mikado(Spydeburg Demo)-Jaga Jazzist-BW
05 Fans-Kings of Leon-JS
06 Black Grease-The Black Angels-JH
07 The Return of Evil Bill-Clinic-BW
08 Roll With It-Oasis-JD
09 Hot Knives-Bright Eyes-JS
10 Mama, Won't You Keep Those Castles in the Air & Burning?-CYHSY!-JS
11 Hang Me Up To Dry-Cold War Kids-BW
12 Finer Feelings-Spoon-BW
13 TV Torso-Sound Team-BW
14 Sick, Sick, Sick-Queens of the Stone Age-BW
15 Apocalypso-Mew-BW
16 Innocence-Bjork-BW
17 Crazy-Andy Zipf-Bw

Find download link in comments.

Sunday, May 20, 2007

Person Pitch

Listening to Panda Bear's Person Pitch is sort of like deciding to go to a far off place, where Charlie Kauffman is hosting a carnival week, and on the carnival's last night in town, the Beach Boys are going to come out and perform some D- or even Z-sides from Pet Sounds. In other words, there's no reason not to go out and get it.
If I'm right, and I am, then this is the summer album of 2007.
I don't even really know what to say about it. The instrumentation is at once meditative and swirling. The lyrics are often indecipherable, but those Beach Boys harmonies are unmistakable, and you might really discover that you're listening to Brian Wilson's nephew - you know, the one who went to culinary school and got kicked out because he kept stealing Crayons to draw pictures of what his sound would look like if he were just able to get the right friendships in order to form his super group. That guy.
I was going to write that "Take Pills" is a journey to what happens when you're underwater with lots of people you love, but that doesn't make sense.
And "Bros," by far the masterpiece of the album, does the most toward wrapping you completely in the same sonic package as "I Just Wasn't Made for These Times."
To be sure, Person Pitch is nowhere near as straighforward as anything the Beach Boys put out. It's given a healthy dose of that 21st century self-referentiality. Maybe this would be a place to talk about irony, but I'm not sure how to, or what it would mean even if I did.
It's almost as if Noah Lennox thought, You know, I'll never be able to get away from a comparison to the Beach Boys, so I might as well go all the way with it. And it's true - this isn't one of those albums where the comparison to another band is questionable. This is deliberate tribute, but without sycophancy. I love it, and I think it'll go down as one of the top ten of 2007.

Wednesday, May 09, 2007

The Heinrich Maneuver

The new Interpol single is available on iTunes now. Or you can stream it here. Go listen to it now. It's okay; I'll wait.

Okay...what do you think? What are you expecting from the new album? It's due July 10th and will be their first on Capital Records. Tell me, corpsers, how do you feel about that?

Dan S.